Culver's
A Culver's franchise typically costs between $3,406,350 - $10,294,100 to open, with a franchise fee of $65,000 and an ongoing royalty of 4% of gross sales.
Franchise Inspectors has verified from the Culver's latest 2026 FDD that the average restaurant generates $4,142,737 in gross sales. The lowest unit volume was $1,103,114 and the highest unit volume was $9,030,702.
How Much Does It Cost?
Total Investment
$3,406,350 - $10,294,100
Franchise Fee
$65,000
Royalty
4%
Marketing Ad Fund
2.5%
How Much Do Owners Make?
$1,103,114
LOWEST GROSS SALES
$4,142,737
AVERAGE GROSS SALES
$9,030,702
highest GROSS SALES

Culver's Retention Amongst Company-Owned and Franchise Owned Outlets


Company Owned Units
Franchised Units
Need Help Evaluating a Franchise?
Culver's Franchise Quick Facts
- Total Investment: $3,406,350 - $10,294,100
- Franchise Fee: $65,000
- Royalty: 4%
- Marketing Fee: 2.5%
- Average Gross Sales: $4,142,737
- Lowest Gross Sales: $1,103,114
- Highest Gross Sales: $9,030,702
- Total Outlets: 1,041
- Length of Term: 15 years
How much does a Culver's franchise owner make?
Culver’s does not disclose franchisee net income or take-home profit in its FDD. However, it does provide detailed Item 19 data and a small sample of company-owned restaurant results. For those corporate locations, Culver’s reports income of $3,320,103 on $25,607,222 in sales (about 13.0%), but that “income” does not include rent or occupancy costs, real estate taxes, personal property taxes, interest, depreciation, amortization, or income taxes, so it should not be treated as owner profit.
For franchisees, instead of giving a single earnings chart, Culver’s shows how performance varies by listing multiple sales breakdowns: (1) overall averages, medians, highs, lows, and distribution across nearly 1,000 restaurants, (2) proximity to interstate locations, (3) population density such as rural vs suburban vs urban markets, (4) performance by state, (5) surrounding household income levels, (6) traffic counts and accessibility, (7) years in operation to show how sales change as locations mature, (8) percentile and distribution tables showing top vs bottom performers, and (9) detailed company-owned restaurant financials. You'll still need to figure out all of your expenses to come up with a true "profit" estimate but these earnings charts will get you started in the right direction.
How long does it take to open a Culver's franchise?
Opening a Culver’s franchise typically takes as little as 4 months but can take up to 24 months from the time you sign the Franchise Agreement. The timeline can vary depending on factors like site selection and condition, construction schedule, whether an existing location needs to be remodeled, equipment delivery, financing, training completion, and local permitting or regulatory approvals.
According to the FDD, if you do not open by the time the restaurant is ready for occupancy, or within 24 months of signing the Franchise Agreement (whichever comes first), the franchisor has the right to terminate the agreement before you begin operations.
Is Culver's semi-absentee?
Culver’s is not designed to be semi-absentee. According to the FDD, if you are an individual, you are expected to be a full-time, on-site owner-operator who personally manages the restaurant, unless the franchisor gives prior approval to delegate that responsibility. If the business is owned by a partnership or corporate entity, one designated individual (the “Operator”) must still take on that role and meet ownership requirements, typically holding at least 50% equity, or at minimum 25% equity plus 25% ownership in the real estate, while remaining actively involved in daily operations.
In addition, the Operator and management team must complete extensive training. The Operator must complete Culver’s Franchisee Development Program and a certified food safety program, and at least 7 managers must complete a 7-week training program. While multi-unit owners can delegate some responsibilities to approved managers for additional locations, Culver’s still requires a strong, hands-on leadership structure, making this a highly operational business rather than a passive investment.
What are the biggest risks of owning a Culver's franchise?
The Culver’s FDD outlines several key risks tied to the size, structure, and requirements of the business. First, it is a high-investment, build-from-scratch model, with total startup costs ranging from roughly $3.4M to over $10M, which creates significant financial exposure, especially if construction costs, financing, or timelines extend. The FDD also notes that timelines can stretch up to 24 months, and if you fail to open within that window, the franchisor has the right to terminate the agreement. In addition, Culver’s requires a full-time, on-site owner-operator, meaning you cannot treat this as a passive investment and must be actively involved in day-to-day operations.
From an operational standpoint, the FDD highlights ongoing obligations and cost pressures, including royalties, marketing fees, and required supplier relationships, where 90% to 95% of purchases must come from approved vendors. The franchisor also retains the ability to change system standards, suppliers, and operating requirements, which can increase costs over time. While Culver’s provides detailed revenue data in Item 19, it does not disclose franchisee profit, and even the company-owned “income” figures exclude major expenses like rent, debt, and taxes. This means actual earnings can vary widely depending on location, costs, and execution, creating real uncertainty around profitability.
This page contains information derived from the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD). We are not making any financial claims, projections, or guarantees. The data shown reflects historical information provided by the franchisor and should not be relied upon as an indication of future performance. Individual results will vary.
